Solo

SAM_2912.JPG
Frying Pan Flat at Wai-O-Tapu in Rotorua, November 2015

My third to last day in Rotorua, was spent at Wai-O-Tapu, a geothermal park with an array of hot springs, mud pools, and geysers. I remember feeling lonely as I boarded the shuttle bus to the park by myself, but met a Canadian – traveling NZ by bike – who I explored Wai-O-Tapu with. After that event, I made a conscious decision to find a travel-mate.

While I sometimes hung out with a German (tourism student) and 3 Danes (travellers) that I met at Rotorua Central Backpackers, I spent a majority of the time alone –  we clicked, but there was always the daunting feeling of the inevitable;  that they will move on with their travels soon.

Eventually, I joined the New Zealand Backpackers group; I didn’t want to leave it up to chance and meet a travel mate at a hostel…I wanted to be proactive and create opportunities for myself.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

